Okay. But do you actually allow any use of the spell that’s not as originally intended? Because some things are technical applications of the rules which rely on rules working as intended but still in very specific way without breaking the game at all.
Sure. The line is somewhere between “I cast minor illusion to make an image of a cabinet, and hide inside of it” and “I cast Shape Water to freeze that guy’s blood.” In the former case, the spell never says I can’t hide inside the illusory object. Clever, useful, not game-breaking. In the latter case, the spell says a creature can’t be inside the water, but it never says the water can’t be inside the creature! Bad, shame, you lose all your spell slots until the next long rest
Okay. But do you actually allow any use of the spell that’s not as originally intended? Because some things are technical applications of the rules which rely on rules working as intended but still in very specific way without breaking the game at all.
Sure. The line is somewhere between “I cast minor illusion to make an image of a cabinet, and hide inside of it” and “I cast Shape Water to freeze that guy’s blood.” In the former case, the spell never says I can’t hide inside the illusory object. Clever, useful, not game-breaking. In the latter case, the spell says a creature can’t be inside the water, but it never says the water can’t be inside the creature! Bad, shame, you lose all your spell slots until the next long rest